So Let’s Talk About Procrastination…Later

I’ve done it again. I’ve got an assignment due tomorrow that I haven’t started yet. This happens, without fail, for 95% of my assignments.

I do have an idea of what I’m going to write on, but this isn’t going to translate into a finished article without many hours of keyboard staring in between. When I was 12 years old or so and writing my first essay, I wished that I could go to sleep and wake up with the paper in its finished state. I haven’t stopped wishing for this.

I suppose I could have saved myself the upcoming stress if I had started the article over the weekend. But that would have gotten in the way of my fun, and who wants that.

I guess I’m just a creature of habit and this is one bad habit that I haven’t managed to change.

But I have learned how to deal with it. I know that I can only leave an assignment to the last minute for shorter assignments. If I have to write more, I’ll start earlier. Sometimes even two days before it’s due. Ha.

I’m extremely lucky that my one talent in life is one that is often used in academia – writing. I know I can write quickly and do a good job at it, so I’ve never felt that I’m endangering my academic life by procrastinating (such an ugly word).

However, I do put unnecessary stress on myself by doing so. I know what I need to do to change, and sometimes I do, but never for an extended period of time. I guess it’s a good thing I’ve learned to deal with it, because it will always be a struggle for me.

Leave a Reply

