Life is a Lot Like Hockey

Not really, but I thought it was time for a post on our national sport and I couldn’t think of a title.

So what should I write about? There’s no point making predictions because, well, there’s just no point. And no money involved.

How about I talk about Sidney Crosby, and how all my friends think he’s a punk? Nah, no point in that either. I’ll be the one laughing when the Pens win the Cup. Mark my words. Wait, was that a prediction? Better put money on it!

Anyways, I was thinking about the drive that separates a pro athlete from an amateur. What is it that a pro does differently that I can learn from? From what I’ve read, pros can make a living from what they do because of their mindset. You read that right. Not natural ability or learned skill, but mindset. Sure, being 6’3″ and 250 pounds are probably handy assets, but they’re not eveything.

The key thing about professional athletes is that they are driven to succeed not by any external force; they want to succeed because they make themselves do it. Each of them wants to be the absolute best that they can be. The obstacles that they face each day, whether it be a sore back from working out, or that rookie who’s dazzling the coaching staff with his skills, are all pared to size in their minds. To us these obstacles may seem difficult to overcome, but to them are minor hurdles in their drive to continue their careers.

Maybe it’s as simple as, “I think I can, I think I can”. But if it’s this simple, why doesn’t everyone do it? The answer is that not everyone believes they can. I think that’s what it comes down to: truly believing that thinking about something is going to make it happen. Our mind throws up all these little red flags that distract us from our goal. These are our “I’m not so sure…” moments that create doubt in our minds about what we’re trying to do. Few people can overcome all the doubts that our subconscious puts in our way. But if we could…

Leave a Reply

